Yes you can!
To pause your account:
- Tap Settings
- Tap Preferences
- Toggle the ‘My story is visible’ switch to the off position
- Note that this won’t undo or remove any likes that you’ve already set to others
This will prevent you from being shown to new people and you'll still be able to chat with your existing matches.
To unpause your account, simply toggle the My story is visible switch to the on position.